Kratos Multiphysics Forums

Kratos installation/compilation issues => Compilation => Topic started by: Victor Bezos on August 10, 2016, 07:44:09 PM

Title: [SOLVED] Coexistence of debug and release version in MVS2015
Post by: Victor Bezos on August 10, 2016, 07:44:09 PM
Hi everyone,

I've just compiled successfully kratos in debug version with MVS2015 (update 2). For that purpose, I had to compile boost, blas, lapack, Qt (I use in my app) libraries in debug mode as well. Does anyone know if I could keep this "debug" solution of kratos and own another one in release mode?.

Thanks in advance, cheers
Title: Re: Coexistence of debug and release version in MVS2015
Post by: Miguel Angel Celigueta on August 11, 2016, 12:05:14 AM
Hi Victor,
I think that a possible solution is to create two separate folders
- cmake_build
- cmake_build_debug
In the first one you can set up the configure.bat for the Release version, in the second one you can modify it for Debug, like you did.
This is what we are doing in linux. This solution does not duplicate the source code, because kratos is outside, and all the results of the configuration and compilation are bounded to the folder.
Maybe others will give you better options,...
Regards,
Miguel Ángel
Title: Re: Coexistence of debug and release version in MVS2015
Post by: Victor Bezos on August 11, 2016, 01:00:04 PM
Hi Miguel Angel,

Thanks for the fast reply, I just worry about of having two boost library compiled versions. I'll try as you suggest and I'll post again in my holidays back.

Thank you again and regards
 
Title: Re: Coexistence of debug and release version in MVS2015
Post by: Miguel Angel Celigueta on August 11, 2016, 05:34:56 PM
I believe that there is no problem with having different versions of boost or different compilations. The important point is to link with the correct one by specifying the proper options in the configure.bat.
Regards,
Miguel Ángel
Title: Re: Coexistence of debug and release version in MVS2015
Post by: Victor Bezos on August 29, 2016, 03:20:10 PM
Hi again,

It works properly as Miguel Angel suggested.

Thank for your help, Miguel Angel, regards!